Recruiting Update: Long Branch’s Miles Shuler

Posted by Scott Stump – http://twitter.com/Scott_Stump

E-mail: stump@allshoremedia.com

Caught up with Long Branch quarterback Miles Shuler, one of the top recruits in New Jersey for the Class of 2011,and he said that he currently has 26 offers and will look to whittle down the list of his favorites next week. He said he may not commit until during the season or after, unlike several of the other top recruits in the Shore who have already offered commitments.

“I’m not really pressured,” Shuler said. “I’m having fun with it. There are schools out there trying to pressure me into a commitment early, so I’m just trying to weigh all my options and make it fun.”

Like several other recruits from the Shore I’ve spoken with lately, Shuler said that the conference roulette that is being played out, with teams jumping to different conferences, like Nebraska to the Big Ten, etc., has not affected his thought process at all.

“Not really,” Shuler said. “I’m just looking at the school itself, and what they have at the school academically and athletically. I’m not really focused on the conferences.”

That sentiment was echoed by Red Bank Catholic tight end Jack Tabb, another top recruit, who told me the other day at the boys basketball team camp at Red Bank Regional that it didn’t really matter to him, although he added, “I think Rutgers joining the Big Ten would be a good thing for them.”

Long Branch’s starting quarterback, Shuler is expected to play receiver or another position at the next level.

“I’m not just a pocket passer,” Shuler said. “The coaches want me touching the ball on every single play, so I’m not that worried about continuing to play quarterback (in high school). I will just have to make the transition to another position and play wide receiver or running back. I’m ready for it.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

